Todo mundo vai saber

Ohhhhkayyy, here we go. This week I have a lot to share about Marli and Fernando who are getting baptized THIS WEEK, WOOT!! One of the many miracles that I have seen from knowing them is that the Lord is really preparing his children to accept the gospel. It’s kind of funny being a missionary because I feel like I am not doing any of the work, but that it is the Lord. Because when the people are ready, and when the spirit is speaking to them, everything just falls into place. It is so cool to be a part of this work!  We always are remembering that the Lord is preparing his eleitos (people who hear his voice and obey), and I know that the gospel is so true, because without him, there would be no work. I am so lucky to be here in Brazil, where everyone already loves the Lord so much. Things here are so different in many ways, this included. It is something incredible!!!

     This week we had some cool experiences with helping Marli and Fernando complete the word of wisdom. There was one morning where we called him every hour with a different page number from the book of mormon with a specific scripture for Fernando, and he was more and more happy with each call 🙂  And when we showed up to teach the lesson we left with a few of his cigars. It was a day like those you always hear about from missionaries, and I got to be a part of it! We have been praying so much for strength for them to be able to keep the word of wisdom, and feel prepared in all aspects for their baptism THIS SATURDAY! (p.s. we found out that Fernando previously smoked more than 30 cigarettes a day, and that he makes them himself in his house) buuutt, the when the Lord commands us to do something, he will always provide a way, and Fernando really has a desire to follow the commandments of God, and he KNOWS that the church is true. So if you remember, we can use all the prayers we can get out here! But really, I am SO happy for them. I loved being with them at church yesterday. We had ward conference, and a training by the stake, where everyone except the primary was together, and Marli even shared something with everyone, participating in the conversation. She said that if she’s going to be a part of the ward, she might as well start now!  I love them so much!
     Speaking of love, I feel so blessed this week to have seen some of Gods children experience a little more of the love he has for them, but it was a difficult week in ways too.  We experienced a lot of rejection this week, and every time we are rejected, especially when we have explained the gospel and tried to explain what it means to us and how we really know the difference it will make in blessing the lives of others, it is hard. The hard thing is not that they are rejecting us, but that they are rejecting their chance to have an eternal family and to return to live with God again. We had a particularly sad experience this week where we taught a sister, she understood everything about the importance of prophets, the apostasy, and the blessing of the restoration of the gospel, and even the book of mormon, but said that she had already committed not to read it. With all the love in our hearts, we bore testimony that we KNOW these things are true, that we have a prophet today because of the love of God, and that we have the church of JESUS CHRIST, the same church that he restored when he was on the earth, with the power of God here, to bless our lives and make it possible to return to live with our Heavenly Father again. I know that one day everyone will know that this is the church of Jesus, and that we need it in order to live with our families forever.  It is sad to know that one day so many people will  be sad to not have accepted this when they had the chance, for the opportunities and joy they are missing out on. How grateful I am that Heavenly Father will be our judge, because while we know he is just, he is also merciful. I am so grateful for this.
     This week I had my first division out here in the mission, and it was awesome, because Sister Ribero, my Sister Training Leader, is AWESOME! She goes home this transfer, which is sad, but what are we going to do about that? I learned so much from her about how we can share the gospel with the same impact in less words, because our testimonies, and the spirit, are the teachers. That gives me so much comfort. Also, I learned that I can actually navigate our area, which was awesome, since we used the buses and everything. Almost all of our lessons fell through, but it was still a great day. Really, every day can be great when we loose ourselves in serving others.
     I am so grateful for the atonement, that the Savior suffered for me so that he knows how to succor me, in my infirmities, weaknesses, sadness, sins, and really every single feeling I have. I am especially grateful this week for President Sholz and the help he gave me this week with his honesty and sincerity. In so many ways, he inspires me to be better. This week we are having zone conference with 5 zones, and I get to sing a song with one of the AP´s elder Bohrquiz (that’s not how you spell it but I don’t know how for sure). Sister Sholz is playing the piano for us, and we are singing (if the Savior stood beside me) in portuguese of course! It’s so great to sing like that again.
     Lastly I love all of you! and  I love the Savior!
     Have faith, have hope, live like his son, help others on their way.
     What does he ask: Live like his son!
     Love, Sister Chapple
sam_3793
sam_3770
sam_3779
sam_3735
sam_3742-copy
Leave a Reply

